

# 2019 PHRF Racing Season

# NOTICE OF RACE

#### 1) RULES

- a) The regattas will be governed by the rules as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing*.
- b) Rules that affect Deep Water Series races:
  - i) The ISAF Offshore Special Regulations (OSR) shall apply.
  - ii) Deep Water Races are classified OSR Category 4 events.
  - iii) The OSR are modified as follows:
    - (1) OSR 4.10 radar reflectors, 4/22 Lifebuoy(s), and 3.21 Water tanks and drinking will not apply.
    - (2) OSR 3.09.3 Bilge pumps and cockpit drains may be connected to a common drainage system (along with other drains) provided the common drainage system has sufficient capacity to handle the maximum combined volume.
    - (3) OSR 3.27.2 Navigation lights may be mounted below deck level if it is original construction.

# 2) ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- a) The Season Series and Individual races are open to all boats that are able to obtain a LMPHRF rating certificate.
- b) Eligible boats may enter by completing the entry form found on the SYC website and submitting proof of \$300,000 in liability insurance and delivering it to the Race Committee folder in the office of the Sheboygan Yacht Club or e-mailing these document to the SYC Race Committee Chairperson.
- c) A boat may enter the series at any point but must:
  - i) Notify the Race Committee they intend to race.
  - ii) Submit an entry form and proof of insurance in compliance with NOR 2)b) prior to racing.
- d) If a boat comes to the starting area to race she has entered that race and any series of which that race is a part.
- e) Boats whose owner or skipper is not a member of the Sheboygan Yacht Club must provide an entry fee in order to be eligible to race.

# 3) FEES

- a) The entry fee for each weekend Buoy Series or Deepwater Race shall be \$40 for SYC members and \$45 for non-members.
- b) The entry fee for Wednesday night racing shall be \$55. This fee will cover the entire season.
- c) Payment
  - i) SYC members shall be billed on their monthly statements for the events they have entered that month.
  - ii) Non-members shall pay prior to entering any race.

### 4) SCHEDULE

- a) Wednesday Night Racing will be from May 29 through September 11
- b) Buoy Series Championship
  - i) June 8: Governor's Cup
  - ii) July 6: Larson Trophy Series
  - iii) September 7: Last Chance Series
  - iv) The first warning signal for each Buoy Series regatta is 12:00 pm
  - v) Three races are scheduled for each Buoy Series regatta
- c) Deep Water Series Championship
  - i) June 15: Hika Bay Race. 12:00 pm first warning
  - ii) August 3: Oostburg Race. 12:00 pm first warning
  - iii) August 17: Sheboygan to Manitowoc. 11:00 am first warning
  - iv) August 18: Manitowoc to Sheboygan. 10:00 am first warning
  - v) August 30: Sheboygan to Port Washington. 17:00 first warning
- d) Hika Bay Two-Handed Race: July 20. 11:00 am first warning
- e) Oostburg Two-Handed Race: June 29. 11:00 am first warning

#### 5) MEASUREMENTS

- a) Each boat shall have a rating certificate from LMPHRF that reflects the current configuration of the boat.
- b) Current, 2019 LMPHRF certificates are strongly encouraged, but are not required and will not be a barrier to entry
- c) Any boat that has made changes to the set-up, sail plan, or configuration of the boat from the most recent certificate will be required to produce a current, 2019 LMPHRF certificate.
- d) All races shall use PHRF Time-on-Time scoring methods.

#### 6) SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

- a) Wednesday Night Races
  - i) Sailing Instructions for Wednesday Night Races will be a separate document from all other races
  - ii) Wednesday Night Sailing Instructions will be posted on the SYC Website and the official notice board prior to the first Wednesday night race.
- b) Sailing Instructions for all weekend events shall be available prior to the first race of the Governor's Cup regatta. These will be posted on the SYC website, www.sheboyganyachtclub.com, and on the official notice board.

#### 7) SCORING

- a) All races shall be scored using PHRF Time-on-Time scoring
- b) Wednesday Night races will be scored for informational purposes only and will not count toward any season championship.
- c) Buoy Series Regattas
  - i) Each regatta will consist of three races
  - ii) Two races shall be required to constitute a series
  - iii) All race scores shall count toward series score
- d) Buoy Series Championship
  - i) The Buoy Series Championship shall be scored using individual race scores (fleet position) from each Buoy Series regatta
  - ii) Three races are required to be completed to constitute a series.

- iii) When 5 or more races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her (1) worst score.
- iv) When 9 races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her two (2) worst scores.
- e) Deep Water Series Championship
  - i) The Deep Water Series races shall comprise this series
  - ii) Two races are required to be completed to constitute a series
  - iii) When 4 races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores (fleet position) excluding her single worst score
- f) Boat of the Year Championship
  - i) The Boat of the Year Championship will be comprised of a combination of regatta scores from the Buoy Series regattas and Deep Water race scores
  - ii) A total of (2) Buoy Series regattas and (2) Deep Water races are required to be completed to constitute this Championship Series.
  - iii) A boat's (fleet position) series score in each Buoy Series regatta and (fleet position) race score in each of the Deep Water races shall constitute her scores toward Boat of the Year.
  - iv) Each buoy regatta series score and deep water race score shall carry equal weight
  - v) When a combined total of (5) Buoy Series regattas and/or Deep Water Series races have been completed, a boat's series score toward Boat of the Year will be the total of her race scores excluding her single worst score.

# 8) RADIO COMMUNICATION

- a) Use of VHF radios for communication with the Race Committee prior to racing or to notify the RC of withdrawal from a race or series is strongly encouraged
- b) The RC signal boat shall monitor VHF channels 16 & 68 at all times while afloat
- c) The RC signal boat may make courtesy broadcast from time to time
- d) All competitors are strongly encouraged to monitor VHF channel 68 while afloat

# 9) PRIZES

- a) Prizes will be awarded at the Sailing Banquet to the winner of each individual regatta, the Buoy Series Championship, the Deep Water Championship, and Boat of the Year.
- b) Trophies
  - i) Walter J. Kohler Memorial- Governor's Cup
  - ii) Past Commodore's Trophy-Hika Bay Race
  - iii) Edward E. Larson Memorial- July Regatta
  - iv) Donald Ohme Memorial- Manitowoc to Sheboygan
  - v) Last Chance Before She Sings-Last Chance Regatta.

# 10) DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See rule 4, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

#### 11) FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information please contact the SYC Race Committee Chairs, Whitney Kent (772.485.5783) and Peter Mayer at <a href="rc.syc214@gmail.com">rc.syc214@gmail.com</a>.

Send any photos you take from racing to the RC email address and we will get them posted online and/or share them with all of the skippers!